AVOID NEW YORK CITY APARTMENT RENTAL SCAMS

I have been in real estate since January 2019. One thing has changed .

The proliferation of scams.

I had an international student I successfully placed in a rent-stabilized building with elevator and laundry this fall. The landlord even covered my fee.

But since she was from Canada and new to NYC she had spoken to endless fraudsters on Facebook and Craigslist. The things they say, the lies they come up with are amazing. These scammers are skilled!

There is someone on instagram right now with thousands of follows and views and excellent engagement marketing fake listings. They are using the name of a major brokerage. They are literally committing crimes in plain view and I don’t know if anyone will stop them.

A year ago I had a good looking listing. Scammers took my photos and video and offered it for less than half the cost.

Scammers prey on people who are new to NY, new to the US, and in many cases face challenges qualifying.

Please, ask the person you are speaking with to show you a license. Call their broker. I have had a client or two be extra suspicious of me and now I get it.

Please learn what the qualifications are for renting in New York City, many apartments accept US guarantors, there are also commercial rental guarantee companies that can help if you are moving from another country. It may take a little extra work to make your plans but I promise you it is worth the work not to have your money stolen and your time wasted.

One other thing, social media is fun, but it is often a terrible barometer of the NYC apartment market. Influencers show the smallest apartment in the most expensive location to get a lot of reaction. This misinformation makes people think getting an apartment though legitimate venues is out of reach.

So call me. Call anyone with a REAL real estate license. Don’t get scammed.

Leave a comment