I’m moving to New York City, do I need a real estate agent?

I see this question on Facebook all the time. Should someone moving to NYC have a real estate agent represent them?

It really depends on your situation, Let us say you have a friend who lives in a large apartment building, you like and can afford that building, and they have an apartment that suits your needs, you can probably just go ahead and apply for that apartment.

However if you are not sure where to live, how to get the most for your budget, or you are not sure how to sort through all of the options available, having an agent can make a HUGE difference navigating a complex and competitive process.

Getting an apartment in NYC can be VERY different than other major cities. There are rental units, condos, and co-ops which have very different application processes. I think one of the most important things an agent can do is help you navigate qualification.

If you are starting a new career, you may or may not need a guarantor. Recently I had a pair of clients, one was transitioning to a much higher paying job. Strictly on paper they probably needed a guarantor, but I was able to package their qualifications so they could get an apartment on their own.

Each landlord has different preferences, some really like to have a guarantor all or most of the time, others really prefer clients who qualify without help. An experienced rental agent can help you figure out what is a good fit for you,

I think the most important thing an agent can do is steer you away from difficult situations. After 5 years of rental transactions, I can tell you which owners and agents are challenging to deal with or are even dishonest. I try to guide my clients into a transaction that will be smooth and as stress-free as possible, I don’t have a magic wand or crystal ball, but I can certainly put you on the path to success.

When I started real estate in 2019 a big part of my pitch was I can help you find a “no fee” apartment. While occasionally landlords do pay me, most of the time clients want to look at a full range of places. I really encourage people to think that they are hiring me to work for them, and if someone else picks up the bill it’s a bonus.

So nobody “needs” to have an agent represent them. If you don’t want to be in constant communication with someone, or if you really have no idea what you want, you may be better exploring on your own. But having an agent can absolutely help you find the best situation and make the process a lot more fun.

Leave a comment